Doctor and activist

68th Walkley Journalism Awards- 23 November 2023

23 November 2023

The 68th Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism were presented in 30 categories, announced in Sydney on 23 November.
For those who like transparency, it does give rise to hope.
Edmund Tadros and Neil Chenoweth have won the Gold Walkley, Australian journalism’s highest honour, for ‘PwC Tax Leaks Scandal’ in The Australian Financial Review.
Antony Loewenstein won the Walkley Book Award for The Palestine Laboratory (Scribe Publications) for his analysis of how the Israeli arms industry tests its weapons and population control technologies on the Palestinian population, then uses this ‘testing’ as a sales advantage.
In addition this year, the Walkley Judging Board unanimously decided to present Chris Masters and Nick McKenzie with a special prize, the Walkley Honour for Media Freedom to recognise their Ben Roberts-Smith stories published in The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and on Nine/60 Minutes from 2018 to 2023.

Arthur Chesterfield-Evans

View more posts from this author